Home

The Diaries
oF John Rabe

A Tang Jianping opera

Berlin

Staatsoper unter den Linden

3rd & 4th JULY 2019

Get Tickets Now

Hamburg

Elbphilharmonie

6th JULY 2019

Get tickets now

Vienna

Ronacher

9th & 10th JULY 2019

Get tickets now

About

The opera “170 Days in Nanking – The Journals of John Rabe” is a touching piece of Chinese contemporary history. Composer Tang Jianping thus combines the desire “that the audience in this drama learns the brilliance of humanity”. Directed by the young director Zhou Mo, the work stands for universal humanism and is at the same time a sign of deep gratitude.

Learn more

ARTISTIC Team

Tang Jianping Composer

Born in Liaoyuan (Jilin Province), Tang Jianping graduated from the National Conservatory in 1987 as China’s first graduate in musicology. His works always focus on China’s cultural relations with the rest of the world. His opera Jianzhen Dongdu had its world premiere in Tokyo in 2016. A year earlier, the Russian opera The Dawn is Quiet Here was staged at China’s National Theatre and has now toured the world three times. In 2017 Tang Jianping was commissioned to compose The Diaries of John Rabe.

Learn more

Zhou Ke Librettist

Zhou Ke is a teacher at the Shanghai Theatre Academy, founder of the Shanghai Ke Centre for Contemporary Art. She has published numerous dramas and musicals and directed Bian Kungang, Single Apartment, Die Hexe von Salem, Mulan, Circle, Bass Cello, Don Quijote, Was ist die Wahrheit der Liebe, and much more.

Learn more

Zhou Mo Director

Zhou Mo was born in Nanking and is now one of the most outstanding opera directors in the USA. She received her master’s degree in theatre studies from Columbia University and her master’s degree in English literature from Bowdoin College. She worked with Anne Bogart and Stephen Wadsworth. Zhou Mo herself teaches at the Juilliard School of Opera in New York and is currently a director at the Lyric Opera of Chicago and the Houston Grand Opera.

Learn more

Wang Jing Scenery

Wang Jing is a UK-based stage designer and columnist. She is a graduate of the Department of Performing Arts at the Shanghai Theater Academy and the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama and winner of the Prof. Gavin Henderson (CBE) Dean Scholarship. Her research interest is scenography. She is a columnist for the magazine Nanfang-Renwu-Zhoukan (Nanfang weekly magazine about personalities) and for the opera magazine Geju. In 2014, she founded a private studio in Cambridge, England, and is creative in both China and the UK.

Learn more

Xu Zhong Conductor

Xu Zhong is one of China’s outstanding conductors and pianists. He directs the Shanghai Opera House, is chief conductor of the Suzhou Symphony Orchestra and the summer music festival in Verona. In addition, he is the musical director of the Haifa Opera House and Dean of the Music School of Suzhou University. He has conducted the Orchester National de France, the Symphony Orchestra Giuseppe Verdi Maicand, the Philharmonic Orchestra Erfurt, the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and many more. In 2018, Xu Zhong was promoted to the rank of officer in recognition of his contribution to the Chinese-French Cultural Exchange.

Cheng Ye Conductor

Cheng Ye lives in Germany and has been the permanent conductor of the Jiangsu Symphony Orchestra since 2013. His bachelor’s degree at the Shanghai Music Academy was followed by a master’s degree at the Hanns Eisler Music School in Berlin. Cheng Ye has successfully collaborated with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, the Frankfurt Symphony Orchestra and others. Cheng Ye has given musical accompaniments to the world premieres of the operas Yunzhihe (The Emperor’s Channel), Zheng he and Jianzhen Dongdu (Ganjin’s Cruise to the East).

Cast Berlin

John Rabe

Tenor

Xue Haoyin/Han Peng

Minnie Vautrin

Soprano

Xu Xiaoying/Ana Isabel Lazo

John Magee

Bass

Tian Haojiang

Colonel Huang

Baritone

Tong Meng

Li Xiuying

Soprano

Zhang Jiayu

 

Han Xianglin

Baritone

Guo Yafeng

Japanese general

Baritone

Zhang Dongliang

Yamamoto (Japanese officer)

Tenor

Xia Xintao

Ikeda (Japanese Ambassador)

Baritone

Liu Yudong

Fukuda (Japanese officer)

Baritone

He Feng

Young boy

 

Hou Yihao/Wang Zihan

 

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Wilson

Tenor

Tom Mulder

Pastor Mills

Baritone

Jose Rubio

Cast Hamburg

John Rabe
Tenor
Han Peng
Minnie Vautrin
Soprano
Ana Isabel Lazo
John Magee
Bass
Tian Haojiang
Colonel Huang
Baritone
Tong Meng
Li Xiuying
Soprano
Zhang Jiayu
Japanese general
Baritone
Zhang Dongliang
Pastor Mills
Baritone
Jose Rubio
Dr. Robert Wilson
Tenor
Thomas Mulder
Han Xianglin
Baritone
Guo Yafeng
Yamamoto (Ambassador)
Tenor
Xia Xintao
Fukuda (Japanese officer)
Baritone
He Feng
Ikeda (Japanese officer)
Bariton
Liu Yudong

Cast Vienna

John Rabe

Tenor

Xue Haoyin/Han Peng

Minnie Vautrin

Soprano

Xu Xiaoying/Ana Isabel Lazo

John Magee

Bass

Tian Haojiang

Colonel Huang

Baritone

Tong Meng

Li Xiuying

Soprano

Zhang Jiayu

 

Han Xianglin

Baritone

Guo Yafeng

Japanese general

Baritone

Zhang Dongliang

Yamamoto (Japanese officer)

Tenor

Xia Xintao

Ikeda (Japanese Ambassador)

Baritone

Liu Yudong

Fukuda (Japanese officer)

Baritone

He Feng

Young boy

 

Hou Yihao/Wang Zihan

 

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Wilson

Tenor

Tom Mulder

Pastor Mills

Baritone

Jose Rubio

Historical Background

During the last weeks of the Japanese-Chinese War around the turn of the year 1937/38, massacres and war crimes by Japanese troops took place in the city of Nanking – then the capital of the Republic of China – and Nanking became a hell on earth. More than 20 international residents – “Europeans and Americans” – led by Siemens manager John Rabe, set up an international security zone at the risk of their lives to protect Nanking’s unarmed citizens from persecution, rape and murder. During this cruel time, this small, sworn group – including Minnie Vautrin, John Magee and others – stood steadfastly behind the citizens of Nanking and, despite all the associated risks, left behind important historical documents in the form of diaries, letters, photos and films. In the Tokyo trial, these served the court as conclusive evidence of the war crimes committed. Since that time, John Rabe has been considered China’s Oskar Schindler.

Learn more

Tickets & Services

… Opera in 2 acts.

… Duration of the performance: about 2 ½ hours, with a break.

… Ticket prices: € 75 – 15

… in Chinese with German subtitles.

Berlin

Venue:
Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Unter den Linden 7
10117 Berlin
Germany

3rd & 4th JULY 2019

Get tickets now

Hamburg

Venue:
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
Grosser Saal
Platz der Deutschen Einheit
20457 Hamburg
Germany

6th JULY 2019

Get tickets now

Vienna

Venue:
Ronacher
Seilerstätte 9
1010 Wien
Austria

9th & 10th JULY 2019

Get tickets now

Home

Die Tagebücher
von John Rabe

Oper von Tang Jianping

Berlin

Staatsoper unter den Linden

3. & 4. JULI 2019

Jetzt Tickets sichern

Hamburg

Elbphilharmonie

6. JULI 2019

Jetzt Tickets sichern

Wien

Ronacher

9. & 10. JULI 2019

Jetzt Tickets sichern

About

Die Oper „170 Tage in Nanking – Die Tagebücher von John Rabe“ ist ein berührendes Stück chinesischer Zeitgeschichte. Komponist Tang Jianping verbindet damit den Wunsch, „dass das Publikum in diesem Drama die Brillanz der Menschheit erfährt“. Inszeniert von der jungen Regisseurin Zhou Mo, steht das Werk für universellen Humanismus und ist gleichzeitig Zeichen tiefer Dankbarkeit.

Mehr erfahren

Künst­ler­isches Team

Tang Jianping Komponist

Geboren in Liaoyuan (Provinz Jilin), promovierte Tang Jianping 1987 am nationalen Konservatorium, als Chinas erster Absolvent in Musikwissenschaften. Seine Werke thematisieren stets die kulturellen Beziehungen Chinas zum Rest der Welt. Seine Oper Jianzhen Dongdu hatte ihre Weltpremiere 2016 in Tokio. Ein Jahr zuvor kam am Nationaltheater Chinas die russische Oper The Dawn is Quiet Here auf die Bühne, die inzwischen drei Mal auf Welttournee ging. 2017 erhielt Tang Jianping den Auftrag, 170 Tage in Nanking zu komponieren.

Mehr erfahren

Zhou Ke Librettistin

Zhou Ke ist Lehrerin an der Shanghai Theaterakademie, Gründerin des Shanghai Ke-Zentrums für zeitgenössische Kunst. Sie veröffentlichte zahlreiche Dramen und Musicals und führte Regie, u.a. bei Bian Kungang, Single Apartment, Die Hexe von Salem, Mucan, Circle, Bass Cello, Don Quijote, Was ist die Wahrheit der Liebe, u.v.m.

Mehr erfahren

Zhou Mo Regisseurin

Zhou Mo ist in Naking geboren und heute eine der herausragenden Opernregisseurinnen der USA. Ihren Master in Theaterwissenschaft machte sie an der Columbia University, jenen in englischer Literatur am Bowdoin College. Sie arbeitete mit Anne Bogart und Stephen Wadsworth. Selbst unterrichtet Zhou Mo an der Juilliard School of Opera in New York und ist derzeit Regisseurin an der Lyric Opera of Chicago und der Houston Grand Opera.

Mehr erfahren

Wang Jing Bühnenbild

Wang Jing ist eine in Großbritannien ansässige Bühnenbildnerin und Kolumnistin. Sie ist Absolventin der Abteilung für Bühnenkunst an der Theaterakademie Shanghai und der Royal Central School of Speech & Drama sowie Gewinnerin des Prof. Gavin Henderson (CBE) Dekanstipendiums. Ihr Forschungsinteresse gilt der Szenografie. Sie ist Kolumnistin, unter anderem für die Zeitschrift Nanfang-Renwu-Zhoukan (Nanfang Wochenmagazin über Persönlichkeiten) und für das Opernmagazin Geju. Im Jahre 2014 gründete sie ein privates Studio in Cambridge (England) und ist sowohl in China als auch in Großbritannien schöpferisch tätig.

Mehr erfahren

Xu Zhong Dirigent

Xu Zhong ist einer der herausragenden Dirigenten und Pianisten Chinas. Er leitet das Opernhaus Shanghai, ist Chefdirigent des Suzhou Symphonieorchesters und des Sommermusikfestivals in Verona. Darüber hinaus ist er unter anderem musikalischer Leiter des Opernhauses Haifa und Dekan der Musikschule der Universität Suzhou. Er dirigierte das Orchestre National de France, das Sinfonieorchester Giuseppe Verdi Maicand, das Philharmonische Orchester Erfurt, das Melbourne Symphony Orchestra und viele mehr. 2018 wurde Xu Zhong, in Anerkennung seines Beitrags zum chinesischfranzösischen Kulturaustausch, in den Offiziersrang befördert.

Cheng Ye Dirigent

Cheng Ye lebt in Deutschland und ist seit 2013 ständiger Dirigent des Sinfonieorchesters Jiangsu. Seinem Bachelorabschluss in der Musikhochschule Shanghai folgte der Master an der Musikschule Hanns Eisler Berlin. Cheng Ye hat erfolgreich mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin, dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, dem Frankfurter Sinfonieorchester und weiteren zusammengearbeitet. Cheng Ye hat unter anderem die Uraufführungen der Opern Yunzhihe (Der Kaiserkanal), Zheng he und Jianzhen Dongdu (Ganjins Schifffahrt in den Osten) musikalisch geleitet.

Cast Berlin

John Rabe

Tenor

Xue Haoyin/Han Peng

Minnie Vautrin

Sopran

Xu Xiaoying/Ana Isabel Lazo

John Magee

Bass

Tian Haojiang

Oberst Huang

Bariton

Tong Meng

Li Xiuying

Sopran

Zhang Jiayu

 

Han Xianglin

Bariton

Guo Yafeng

Japanischer General

Bariton

Zhang Dongliang

Yamamoto (Japanischer Offizier)

Tenor

Xia Xintao

Ikeda (Japanischer Botschafter)

Bariton

Liu Yudong

Fukuda (Japanischer Offizier)

Bariton

He Feng

Junger Knabe 

 

Hou Yihao/Wang Zihan

 

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Wilson

Tenor

Tom Mulder

Pastor Mills

Bariton

Jose Rubio

 

Cast Hamburg

John Rabe
Tenor
Han Peng
Minnie Vautrin
Sopran
Ana Isabel Lazo
John Magee
Bass
Tian Haojiang
Oberst Huang
Bariton
Tong Meng
Li Xiuying
Sopran
Zhang Jiayu
Japanischer General
Bariton
Zhang Dongliang
Pastor Mills
Bariton
Jose Rubio
Dr. Robert Wilson
Tenor
Thomas Mulder
Han Xianglin
Bariton
Guo Yafeng
Yamamoto (Botschafter)
Tenor
Xia Xintao
Fukuda (Japanischer Offizier)
Bariton
He Feng
Ikeda (Japanischer Offizier)
Bariton
Liu Yudong

Cast Wien

John Rabe

Tenor

Xue Haoyin/Han Peng

Minnie Vautrin

Sopran

Xu Xiaoying/Ana Isabel Lazo

John Magee

Bass

Tian Haojiang

Oberst Huang

Bariton

Tong Meng

Li Xiuying

Sopran

Zhang Jiayu

 

Han Xianglin

Bariton

Guo Yafeng

Japanischer General

Bariton

Zhang Dongliang

Yamamoto (Japanischer Offizier)

Tenor

Xia Xintao

Ikeda (Japanischer Botschafter)

Bariton

Liu Yudong

Fukuda (Japanischer Offizier)

Bariton

He Feng

Junger Knabe 

 

Hou Yihao/Wang Zihan

 

 

 

 

Dr. Robert Wilson

Tenor

Tom Mulder

Pastor Mills

Bariton

Jose Rubio

 

Historischer Hintergrund

Während der letzten Wochen des Japanisch-Chinesischen Kriegs um die Jahreswende 1937/38 kam es in der Stadt Nanking – der damaligen Hauptstadt der Republik China – zu Massakern und Kriegsverbrechen durch japanische Truppen, Nanking wurde zu einer Hölle auf Erden. Mehr als 20 internationale Einwohner – „Europäer und Amerikaner“ – angeführt von Siemens-Manager John Rabe, errichteten unter Lebensgefahr eine internationale Sicherheitszone, um die unbewaffneten Bürger Nankings in dieser „Zone zur Wahrung der Menschlichkeit“ vor Verfolgung, Vergewaltigung und Ermordung zu schützen. In dieser grausamen Zeit stand diese kleine, eingeschworene Gruppe – darunter Minnie Vautrin, John Magee und andere – den Bürgern in Nanking unerschütterlich bei und hinterließ, trotz aller damit verbundenen Risiken, mit Tagebüchern, Briefen, Fotos und Filmen wichtige historische Dokumente. Diese dienten im Tokio-Prozess dem Gericht als aussagekräftiges Beweismaterial für die begangenen Kriegsverbreche. Seit dieser Zeit gilt John Rabe als Chinas Oskar Schindler.

Mehr erfahren

Karten & Services

… Oper in 2 Akten.

… Dauer der Aufführung: ca. 2 ½ Stunden, mit einer Pause.

… Kartenpreise: € 75 – 15

… In chinesischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln.

Berlin

Aufführungsort:
Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Unter den Linden 7
10117 Berlin
Germany

3. & 4. JULI 2019

Tickets kaufen

Hamburg

Aufführungsort:
Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
Grosser Saal
Platz der Deutschen Einheit
20457 Hamburg
Germany

6. JULI 2019

Tickets kaufen

Wien

Aufführungsort:
Ronacher
Seilerstätte 9
1010 Wien
Austria

9. & 10. JULI 2019

Tickets kaufen